Why George Why???

The following article is based on my own interpretation of the said events. Any material borrowed from published and unpublished sources has been appropriately referenced. I will bear the sole responsibility for anything that is found to have been copied or misappropriated or misrepresented in the following post

Pratikshit Gupta, MBA 2015-17, Vinod Gupta School of Management, IIT Kharagpur

__________________________________

For the past five years I had been ahead of my friends, but this year I will be with many of my friends facing the same feelings that do. I am talking about The Winds of Winter. The sixth book in the series of A Song of Fire and Ice. I am talking about George R. R. Martin. I am talking about Game of Thrones. I am talking about whether Jon Snow survived or not, whether Arya succeeded in her tasks or not, whether Bran can do about the situations from that far away beyond the Wall.

I had read the previous five books in the series, but unfortunately the author could not complete the sixth book and the series eventually caught up with him. Earlier I was prepared with what is going to happen in the series. Maybe even tease my friends. But this year, I will be watching each episode with the fear, curiosity, and anger as my friends who hadn’t read the book. And this is all because George R. R. Martin could not complete the book. It was supposed to be completed by 2014, and then the deadline moved to 2015, then 2016. 2016 started with for me with very high hopes, but a recent rumor about the book that it will not be completed before 2017 has left me with disappointment.

The only good thing which has come in the recent news article is that the show will not spoil the book. This can only be verified after the book has been released.

The only thing we can do now is wait, and wait for how much more time we have to because the sixth is not the last book of the series. There is another book after and god knows how much time that will book will take.

Leave a Reply

